Skip to content

Resolved this 1st day of January, in the year of our Lord 2007

January 2, 2007

I, Mary Ann Parks, do hereby resolve to be a better person……Wait – I hear you laughing already. C’mon, stop – I’m being serious. Honestly – I have decided that this year I’m going to be a better person. But, not in that generic (no offense, Jon-Erik :-)) way that most people mean. I’m going to become a better person this year through:

Digging deeper into Scripture. I really feel God calling me to seek Him more through His Word. (Great, now that I’ve written this down, people are going to hold me accountable……..oh, hi! I mean, Great! Now that I’ve written this down, I’ll people to hold me accountable to this! ;-))

Praying the Scriptures more. This goes along with #1, but is more than an extension of it. Or, at least that’s how it feels to me.

Stepping out in faith when God leads me to. This one is basically self-explanatory. You’ll notice the emphasis on the word “when.” The reason for this is that I tend to hesitate. No, really, I do……This year, I’m going to try to be more obedient when God tells me to do something, and not wait until I’m “comfortable.”

******************************************************************

Verse for the day: Philippians 3:12-14 (NLT) “I don’t mean to say that I have already achieved these things or that I have already reached perfection. But I press on to possess that perfection for which Christ Jesus first possessed me. No, dear brothers and sisters, I have not achieved it, but I focus on this one thing: Forgetting the past and looking forward to what lies ahead, I press on to reach the end of the race and receive the heavenly prize for which God, through Christ Jesus, is calling us.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

