Skip to content

My ring

April 11, 2007

Some time ago, I lost my high school ring.  I would not have been hugely upset by it, except for the fact that it was given to me by my mom, and it is the last thing I have left that she ever gave me (as far as material possessions, that is…we’re not counting my stubbornness, or the chin-hairs…oops, did I actually type that???)  Anyway…..I thought that it had fallen down a drain in my bathroom.  I resigned myself to the fact that my ring was gone, most likely forever.  Sure, thoughts of people who have had rings/jewelry returned after 20-30 years crossed my mind, but I didn’t really expect that to happen.  The timing of losing my ring did correlate with the stage I was at in dealing with a lot of the emotional baggage that I picked up after losing my mom.  I realized that, by “letting go” of the ring, it was symbolic of letting go of the baggage. And so, I came to grips with losing the ring.
However, the ring was not truly lost.  During a re-arrangement of the office at home, my friends whom I live with FOUND MY RING!!!  Immediately, I was reminded of Joel 2:25 : “The Lord says, “I will give you back what you lost to the swarming locusts, the hopping locusts, the stripping locusts, and the cutting locusts…” (NLT)….God restored my ring! and with it, a symbolic reminder that I could indeed hold to my memories of my mom and grandmom while ridding myself of the baggage.  That probably doesn’t make sense to most of you reading this (ok, to the one person probably actually paying attention :-p), but it does to me, so that’s what matters. (No offense :))

Last night in Songsters, we sang a song that usually makes me bawl…”It Is Well”  This was one of the songs I selected to be sung at my mom’s memorial service (along with “Amazing Grace”)……but the words continue to have ever-increasing meaning for me….

When peace like a river, attendeth my way,
When sorrows like sea billows roll;
Whatever my lot, Thou hast taught me to say,
It is well, it is well, with my soul.

“This hymn was writ­ten af­ter two ma­jor trau­mas in Spaf­ford’s life. The first was the death of his only son, shortly followed by the great Chi­ca­go Fire of Oc­to­ber 1871, which ru­ined him fi­nan­cial­ly (he had been a weal­thy bus­i­ness­man). In 1873, while cross­ing the At­lan­tic, all four of Spaf­ford’s daugh­ters died in a col­li­sion with an­o­ther ship. Spaf­ford’s wife Anna sur­vived and sent him the now fa­mous tel­e­gram, “Saved alone.” Sev­er­al weeks lat­er, as Spaf­ford’s own ship passed near the spot where his daugh­ters died, the Ho­ly Spir­it in­spired these words. They speak to the eter­nal hope that all be­liev­ers have, no mat­ter what pain and grief be­fall them on earth. ”

(from Wikipedia)

I was (and am) reminded that, it is only when I surrender something to God that He will restore it, in His time and in His way – which is far beyond and above my feeble attempts at understanding.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 17, 2007 2:26 am

    Nice blog!

  2. April 21, 2007 10:25 pm

    You’re an allstar!

Leave a Reply

