Skip to content

Today

May 7, 2007

It’s 8:22 AM on a Monday morning, and I’m waiting to testify in a capital murder case.  I never thought I would hear myself say those words.  I never imagined I would be in this position.  Just under three years ago, one of the residents (I’ll call him “J”) where I work/live was murdered.  It was a brutal case.  Basically, the guys that did it were suburbanites down in the ‘hood looking for a fix.  They got their fix, and in their altered state decided that they wanted to see what it was like to kill a man.  They rolled up to the closest gas station, where “J” happened to be panhandling (it was a habit we were trying to break him of).  They grabbed him, threw him in their car and proceeded to beat him to a bloody pulp.  Afterwards, they stabbed him a few times for good measure.  When he was dead, they dumped his body in an abandoned lot behind a nearby supermarket.  They then proceeded to the hospital. (While they were beating “J,” he was busy trying to defend himself. Although he wasn’t able to save himself, he managed to land both guys in the hospital.  That’s how they were caught, actually.)

.

..

….

…..

….

..

.

It’s now 9:18 AM.  I’m leaving the courthouse.  Turns out the trial starts tomorrow.  I may not even need to testify until Thursday, or later.  I got up at 6:00 AM, put on a dress (a stinkin’ dress for crying out loud!!), and dragged my butt down to the courthouse only to find out that I didn’t need to come all the way down here today after all.  And, you know the worst part?  I didn’t even have any $ to get Starbucks!  A block away from the stinkin’ Starbucks, and no $$$$.  AUUUGGGGGHHHHH!!!

 Anyone want to buy me some Starbucks?  I’ll even settle for some Dunkin’ Donuts…….

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

