Skip to content

Before and After

August 13, 2008

Before and after. Who I was and who I am. I’ve started thinking about this contrast as I’m reading Bill Hybels’ book, Just Walk Across The Room. Thinking of examples like the Woman at the Well and Zaccheus or more modern-day examples like Chuck Colson or Bob Buford, I’m reminded that my contrast isn’t that stark. I’ve had “Christ in my heart” since I was a kid, and I was always a good kid, at that. I’ve never been a woman of ill repute, or cheated my countrymen out of their hard-earned wages. I wasn’t a “bored, rich guy,” and I certainly haven’t reached dizzying heights of success from which I could fall.

I’m just a kid from the wrong side of the tracks who, according to traditional wisdom, shouldn’t amount to much of anything. The deck has been stacked against me from Day One. Or, at least, that’s what the world would have me think. Looking back, it’s undeniable how God has been working things out behind the scenes…

I was a fatherless child, with the stigma that comes attached to that…now, I know that I am the daughter of the King.

I was burdened by the weight of cares and concerns…now, I am free.

I was alone, drifting aimlessly…now I know I am part of a family that transcends generations and geographic limitations.

I was depressed, and defined by the circumstances which surrounded me…now I have found joy that is beyond measure, and I define my reactions to circumstances through the Word.

I was bound by fear…now I walk more and more in the freedom given to me in Christ.

One Comment leave one →
  1. March 29, 2010 9:33 am

    Thanks for your post…I could not have worded my dilemma any better but moreso thanks for sharing the outcomes of each predicament for those who would dare to trust God.

Leave a Reply

